PDA

View Full Version : photoshop > clipboard fuck ups


bigtimecow
Apr 14th, 2008, 02:24 PM
couldn't think of a good title.

i'll be in photoshop and i can copy stuff within photoshop to the clipboard and then paste it just fine. but sometimes when i copy things from another application (such as illustrator) or an image from the google or a print screen etc. they will not paste. it just keeps pasting the previous thing i had copied to the clipboard.

i know "sometimes" isn't very sufficient to work with, but i really cannot see a pattern to when it does or does not do this.

liquidstatik
Apr 15th, 2008, 04:53 AM
i have no idea how to fix it, but i thought i'd let ya know that it happens to me aswell. :x

MarioRPG
Apr 15th, 2008, 03:07 PM
Hmm, perhaps you should get something that empties your clipboard whenever this occurs? I know CCleaner does...

liquidstatik
Apr 15th, 2008, 03:44 PM
on mine at least, it'll start working after a few tries. but, like he said, it just kinda happens at random. :x

Mockery
Apr 15th, 2008, 06:47 PM
It's a common problem that's followed Photoshop through several versions as far as I can tell. Haven't seen it really happen in the latest version though, so hopefully they fixed it. Anyway, the best way to fix the problem that I found was to simply close Photoshop and open it up again. That usually seems to fix the clipboard problem whenever it does happen.

sloth
Apr 26th, 2008, 11:22 AM
not really important enough for its own thread, but along the photoshop theme - does anyone know how to change the photoshop's default unit for dimensions from cm to pixels? Image Size at least seems to remember the last unit type used, but Canvas Size ALWAYS defaults to cm and it's a right pain in the japseye to change it every time I have to resize.

J. Tithonus Pednaud
May 4th, 2008, 01:41 AM
Edit>Preferences>Units and Rulers

Mine seems to remember any changes made there.

andreasw
May 12th, 2008, 06:34 PM
Same problem here with the clipboard and pasting between applications and the Print Screen. It looks like Photoshop isn't always checking the clipboard, if it has been updated by external applications. This could be fixed with a small registry change.

I've used the registry-fix here on four different PC's running Win XP Pro Sp2 with Photoshop CS3. Everything now works perfectly.

NB! This is the same registry-fix that is provided in your Photoshop CS-package:
Photoshop CS3/Goodies/Optional Plug-Ins/Photoshop Only/Optional Extensions

Look at my page for the registry-key script for both CS, CS2 and CS3:

EXTERNAL PAGE: Explanation and registry-clipboard fix (http://www.wivestad.no/mgfx/photoshop_resources.php?subaction=showfull&id=1210616225&archive=&start_from=&ucat=18&)

(edit the script with notepad to see what is added to the registry...) The script is just 131 bytes...
(Chojin: The reason for the "all versions" is a zip, is because all three versions use the same file-name, and needs to be the same file name in order to work. Difference is:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Photoshop\10.0]
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Photoshop\9.0]
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Photoshop\8.0]



)

Chojin
May 12th, 2008, 07:43 PM
Just so you're all aware, the CS3 .reg file he's providing is legit. Or at least not malicious:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Photoshop\10.0]
“AlwaysImportClipboard”=dword:00000001

Can't vouch for the other file and can't be bothered to try!

BID WITH CONFIDENCE.