PDA

View Full Version : Installing XP


Zhukov
Nov 7th, 2009, 09:03 AM
Running Vista, want XP, how do I change my BIOS to allow me to run from the disc drive when I first boot up? The XP disc wont allow me to install once Vista is running; the 'install' option is greyed out on the discs pop up screen.

Thanks for any help. Easier to ask here than spend hours googling btw.

Mad Melvin
Nov 7th, 2009, 11:50 AM
Usually "advanced BIOS settings" -> "Boot device priority" -> Put DVD-drive on the top of the list.

Fathom Zero
Nov 7th, 2009, 01:36 PM
And if you don't know how to get to da BIOS, it's usually anything on the top row of a keyboard, ESC, F1-12, or Delete. Also, depending on the computer, there might be a different button and screen for the BIOS and the boot priority, like on my computer where I think esc brings up the boot and F9 or something brings up the BIOS.

Zhukov
Nov 8th, 2009, 01:14 AM
Thanks guys. Tried this and now it just wont load at all :lol I think my uh, pirated CD might be fucked.

Pub Lover
Nov 9th, 2009, 04:51 PM
No, I did this recently too. Vista fucks up XPs shit if you don't deleted it completely first.

Zhukov
Nov 10th, 2009, 07:14 AM
Oh damn, that sucks. Thanks though.

Fathom Zero
Nov 10th, 2009, 11:48 AM
I hear magnets help.

Zhukov
Nov 11th, 2009, 07:00 AM
WTF I used magnets and I can't seem to get it right :(

Fathom Zero
Nov 11th, 2009, 09:54 AM
OH JESUS I'M SORRY

Zhukov
Nov 22nd, 2009, 11:39 AM
The best I could get was a dual install of XP and Vista. This sucks. I want to get rid of the Vista side of things because it takes up so much room, but I am a computer retard.

Fathom Zero
Nov 22nd, 2009, 11:46 AM
I have suggestions, but I'm afraid you might fuck something up.

http://gparted.sourceforge.net/livecd.php

Download this and burn it or stick it on a USB key. When you stick it in your computer, just get to the option where you format your disc. Vista sounds like it has to be nuked before it dies.

Also, keep the disc with the rest of your computer stuffs. It's a handy tool.

Zhukov
Nov 24th, 2009, 04:21 AM
Ta. That can be plan B. Plan A involves my IT friend doing it for me, so I hope that happens.

kahljorn
Jan 11th, 2010, 11:31 PM
Did you ever get this resolved dude?

Zhukov
Jan 12th, 2010, 11:55 PM
Hmmm, I must assume that you have a similar problem.

I haven't really fixed it yet, actually. Still running a dual install. My IT friend keeps promising to fix it, but the last time I gave him my laptop he just installed a cracked version of borderlands. Said e thought that's what I wanted him to do :lol

kahljorn
Jan 13th, 2010, 02:38 AM
oh, you have a laptop? Are you trying to save the data on it?

otherwise you should just delete the old partition :O

Do you have another computer that you can like download drivers and stuff from? otherwise you might want to make sure you at least have sata drivers just in case :(

kahljorn
Jan 14th, 2010, 07:48 AM
If you use that program that fathomzero recommended you should be able to DELETE the vista partition and combine it with your xp one. So you could transfer all the needed files from the vista partition to your xp partition, and then just format the vista one and use that program to combine them.
:)
also if you do that and vista transfers over you might be able to remove it through START/RUN/MSCONFIG/BOOT, but i dont know for sure :(

in fact if you dont mind having two partitions you might just be able to delete it that way :O :O :O